What is UP with this resistance???

ORIGINALLY POSTED ON THE NING SITE ON APRIL 27, 2009 (I’m moving old posts from that site, which is closing down, to my WordPress blog):

I’m back in town again. We had a great week camping. Lots of interesting things came up … well, interesting to me anyway … that I’ll write about later. But what’s really vexing me right now is something that I discovered while using my Shape Shifter’s Daily Diary (yes, that’s a mild sales pitch). While doing my 4-Week Reality Check/Goal Tweak, I noticed a pattern of resistance that is blowing my mind!

As I’ve written about in the past, it has been very difficult for me to exercise because I have been dealing with vertigo most of my life. Recently, because I finally received medical insurance when Jeff and I got married, I was able to have it treated and it was gone for the first time in over six years. I felt incredible. I could move my head and live my life, like everyone else.

I also recently joined Curves because, as a result of the magical medical care I finally had access to, I finally felt well enough to work out again.

But within a week of signing up and starting to work out every other day, I was smacked down with a major upper respiratory infection that was so powerful I actually ended up in the ER. I was sick for two weeks … too sick to go to Curves.

Then, the following week, Mother Nature called with her monthly dose of “Don’t even THINK of wearing white this week! And, oh yeah. Don’t dream of doing anything strenuous like working out, or I’ll ruin everything you’re wearing, in public.”

The week after that, Jeff and I went out of town for a week. No gym there!

So now we’re home and I’m itching to go. I’m actually wanting to get to Curves and get back to work. I was feeling really good about going before all these distractions.

However, I woke up two days ago with the vertigo back in place, and no insurance (read the previous blogs if you’re interested in that story). Therefore, now I’m too freaking sick to go to the freaking gym!

I can’t help but think there is way more to this than just “coincidence.” Right? I’m gonna have to meditate on this for a while to get to the bottom of what is the underlying story.

Leave a Reply

