Epiphany Quest 2010: Chapter 1–The countdown begins

I’m about to embark on a fascinating journey. When one of my oldest friends (meaning I’ve known her forever, not that she’s the “oldest” one of my friends) suggested a drive across the western half of the US, to help her to get over a painful divorce, I just saw it as a girls’ road trip. After all, it might be fun for the two of us middle-aged women to drive up PCH and check out the Golden Gate bridge, and relax for a couple days in Lake Tahoe. Fun, but no big deal.

Then she threw in the idea of going to Mount Shasta, because she had heard that it was one of those woo-woo vortexes, like in Sedona. My first reaction, other than one of recognition because my friend Elizabeth Anne Hill had gone there a couple years ago, was that I really didn’t want to add it to the itinerary. It’s waaaaay out of the way, and I’m not a huge fan of mountain roads. So I talked her out of it.

But then she got a reading from my psychic friend Curtis Folts, who told her she absolutely MUST go to Shasta on this trip. I was pretty ticked off when I heard this because, damn it, I just talked her out of going!

She felt like she really needs to go, because it’s supposed to be a really spiritual place and she said it would be a shame to be only five hours away, as opposed to across the country. I saw the sense in that, and decided it was okay with me, as long as we could get there and back by using only interstates. I really hate secondary roads through the mountains. Been there, done that, and my butt is still unclenching.

Well, I’ve been researching Mount Shasta and what we should do while we’re there, and I’m beginning to realize that this is to a “New Ager” what Jerusalem is to many other spiritual belief systems. It’s sort of our Mecca. I don’t know how I’ve been involved in the New Thought world for as long as I have and not known that, but there it is. I guess I never really thought of “New Thought” as having a holy city, but if we did, it would apparently be Mount Shasta.

So, off we go. In about 10 days or so, we’ll be on our way. I’m going to be keeping a sort of travelogue along the way. It should be a fascinating trip, because we’re hitting a lot of “spiritual” places and planning lots of fun, psychic experiments. I’ll keep ya posted!

7 responses to “Epiphany Quest 2010: Chapter 1–The countdown begins

  1. Should be good. Yep, Shasta is pretty special, I understand. Supposedly, I’ve been there in another lifetime as one of those Lemurians (kinda like the Atlantis story, but with caves under Shasta). The old vortexes are generally not as powerful as they used to be, because we can carry most/all of the energy within ourselves now. Years ago, people needed power places, wands, other outside tools. Now our collective vibration has changed enough for many people to carry the universal energy within (although many are not aware of this). So, yep, I think you and friend are meant to go there, although the mountain road thing can be a challenge!

  2. I am SO interested in hearing all about your Shasta trip. I live in Atlanta and have not heard of this place – but my interests lie definitely in this type of spiritual realm. Could be atrip out west coming up in my future? 🙂

  3. Elizabeth Hill

    Yep. I went in 2008. It is a special place and you can’t go all the way to SF and not go there if you are as you say, “a new ager.” There is some pretty powerful energy at that mountain and I wouldn’t be suprised if you saw a UFO or a highly evolved Lemurian from Telos walking around. I am only half joking about that. Elizabeth

  4. Actually, E, I would prefer another phrase to “new ager” but I don’t know another one that is globally understood. If you have a suggestion, I’d love to hear it. I can’t stand that label, but what else is there?

    It’s so cool to see that other people are interested in what I’ll be writing about, because I’m finding this unfolding trip absolutely fascinating! I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

  5. Sorry to be the catalyst to you getting pissed off, however I’m thrilled to hear all about it!

  6. LOL. It’s all good, Curtis. I was “ticked,” not pissed. There is a difference, in my mind. Besides, I think we BOTH really need to go to Shasta, so your nudging was a wonderful thing.

  7. I have been on Mt Shasta but never in an awakened state.. perhaps we will be allowed to visit with you. Oh and Lisa did you know Steve Rother talked about Mt Shasta Saturday and how they had their first 5 major retreats there etc and reminded me of ‘Glass Mountain’ – all obsidian! I do want to see that. 😉

Leave a Reply

