Epiphany Quest 2010: Chapter 7–Don’t judge a book …

I was initially going to post a blog about all that has happened since our readings at the Berkeley Psychic Institute on Monday, and I will get to that eventually, but I think I really need to write first about the bizarre experience I had this afternoon at a shop in Yreka, CA.

Vicci and I were taking the day off from the whirlwind schedule we’ve been living and just doing some mundane errands: laundry, stocking up on groceries, getting the car washed, resting, stuff like that, when we happened to drive past an adorable little shop that sells organic foods, supplements, crystals, books, etc.

Well, since Epiphany Quest 2010 is occurring at the same time as my participation in the Next Top Spiritual Author competition, I brought several copies of my book and some flyers with the intention of asking permission to post them in bookstores along the way, to gather votes. This is the part of being an author that I don’t necessarily enjoy, because you’re practically begging for rejection (just like actors auditioning for roles or vacuum cleaner salesmen going door to door), but it’s apparently necessary.

So after getting the car washed, we stopped into this shop and I talked to one of the clerks about hanging the flyer. She was very nice and said she’d have to check to see if it’s okay. So I handed her a copy of Shape Shifting—reclaiming YOUR perfect body and of my new novel Be Careful What You Witch For!, along with a flyer and some business cards. I told her I’m not selling anything, that the books were thank-you gifts in exchange for letting me hang the flyer. She took them and went into the back room. About thirty seconds later, she came out, followed by the owner/manager (I’m not sure of her exact title) who practically threw the books at me and snapped, “These don’t fit with who we are and we do NOT sell on consignment!” Then she stormed away, leaving me and the clerk staring at each other with our jaws on the floor.

I said to the clerk, “Well, THAT was a hostile reaction, wasn’t it?” and she replied, puzzled, “It sure was.” I asked, “What was that all about?” to which she responded, “I don’t know, but it was this book she was reacting to,” and she indicated the novel. I don’t know if you’ve seen the cover of the novel but it’s cute and amusing, and I can’t figure out what on earth could be so offensive.

I thanked the clerk for her time, and gestured to Vicci to follow me outside. She was surprised, because we had planned to eat lunch and do some shopping there, but I was freaked out and my feelings were very hurt from being treated so unjustly and rudely that I just wanted to get the hell out of there and try to figure out what just happened. I certainly wasn’t going to spend any money in there!

We went across town and had lunch at a cute little Mexican joint and did some laundry, where I began to experience a migraine aura, wherein I go blind for about a half hour. I had to just sit in the Laundromat and wait until I could see again. All I wanted to do was go back to the hotel and crawl back into bed, but I had to wait until the clothes were dry to do that.

By the time we got back to the room, I could see again, but I was still upset and confused. Vicci suggested I pull a Tarot card. Get this—the card I drew, from my Shapeshifter tarot deck was Two of Swords: Blindness. The book says about this card, “You need to conquer personal blindness and the fear that limits your experience, transmuting and expanding your awareness.” I’m still pondering the deeper meaning of the card and await this next Epiphany.

Tomorrow is our trip to Mount Shasta and the Vortex Tour. I hope the next epiphanies are more pleasant.

NOTE: After posting this, my friend Curtis Folts called me to offer his two cents, and I think he nailed it. Get this …

A similar scenario has happened to me once or twice before, where someone “judged my book by its cover.” They made a knee-jerk reaction and let me know how much they hated the book, just from the cover alone, and this is very upsetting to me, no matter how thick my skin may be getting (Shape Shifting anyone?). Curtis pointed out that perhaps the blindness aspect of this card is my fear of THEIR blindness, because everyone who has read the book absolutely loves it, and the fact that these people don’t even bother to take more than the briefest of moments to negatively judge my work is very upsetting and that is what I dread.

Thank you Curtis!

3 responses to “Epiphany Quest 2010: Chapter 7–Don’t judge a book …

  1. Glad I got to read this after we talked about it. I feel a bit clearer about it now. I expect that you will get this one pretty soon! Looking forward to hearing about it too! Keep your energy flowing and as high as possible!

  2. Wow! What a way to get a message…and then not be quite sure what it was! My initial thought was that the witch thing bothered her, but they were selling Wicca-type stuff, so you’d think they’d be friendly. Maybe she thought you were going to ridicule Wicca in some way. Funny can run in many directions. Wiccans certainly have some justification for feeling persecuted, I suppose. Yeah, you must have gotten a nasty dose of negative energy that literally blinded you . And of course, you did say right before you went in, that you really didn’t like having to supplicate for exposure. 😉 I’ve noticed that when folks internalize more psychic energy, they often manifest very quickly, the positives and the negatives, and there is often some fear of fully stepping into that power and trusting self to use it with integrity. Maybe not for you, but fear of misusing power has been one of my core issues. Something about Atlantis, I’m told. Curtis is right. Let it flow!

  3. I was just sharing this story with Nathan, along with my sense of what was going on here, and it made sense to him too. First of all, don’t take this woman’s reaction personally in any way…especially after reading that someone else had a similar experience with her…in fact, it was in reading that comment that it came to me….
    I was thinking how strange it was for someone who had issues like that with those in the Light to have a shop of that kind in the first place when I realized that perhaps she wasn’t like that when she opened it…and that this is a case of entity attachment. It is the entity (or entities) now attached to her that are causing the hostile reactions. Anyone who is coming from a higher level of understanding is a threat to them and their control of her. Entity attachment is unbelievably common and becoming more so. Especially at risk are people who dabble with, and open themselves up to, metaphysical exploration, without a proper understanding of the energies that they are working with. So many that end up coming here for help do so because they have, at some point, opened themselves up carelessly, or exposed themselves in some way, to entity attachment. It is especially prevalent with those who dabble in magical and shamanistic practices without a clear understanding of what they are doing. I wonder if people who have known her for some time have noticed a shift in her attitudes and behavior? For sure there is nothing but good and positive energy connected with your books, and with you!

Leave a Reply

