Fools’ paradise

Jeff, eating orange "food" and drinking orange liquid. How's that for fun? Huh? Huh?

As I’ve said in many blogs, Jeff and I have become masters at making life fun for free (one of the necessities of life when you’re seriously broke). My daughter, Kristina, noticed this same ability among the locals when she was in Turkey at Incirlik AFB–the local people were terribly poor (much more so than your average American, even in “today’s economy”). She was amazed and impressed by their ability to be truly happy even though they lived in homes made of bedsheets and ropes.

Fortunately, I am wealthy enough to have a digital camera so I can take pictures of life’s little joyous moments. Here are a few recent ones:

They are not responsible for damage to your vehicle OR their sign.

Hey mister, if you’re not using that car, can I have it?

My friend, Susan, pointed this sign out to me, specifically for use in this blog. She’s obviously a regular reader, because she knew I could not pass this one up.

Yes, that’s right. The old man sitting outside of JCPenney’s is playing an accordion. Your guess is as good as mine.

Sometimes seagulls just BEG you to drive through their flock.

Who are we to say no?

Well, that was fun, wasn’t it?

Here’s you a passel o’ dogs. My favorite is the one on the lounge chair, with its legs akimbo, not giving a rat’s ass that its buddies are going crazy over a passing motorcyle.

 

3 responses to “Fools’ paradise

  1. You always make me smile. I would have thought the man at Penny’s was reading a paper had you not mentioned the accordion! Happy trails to you Lisa.

  2. Is it just me or did that “please use the sidewalk” sign look like it had a bunch of Mr. Hankys on it?

    Oh yeah!

    Oh to be a seagull now that the 2011’s are out.

  3. Have I mentioned that I am learning to play piano? I mention this only because its so hard to carry a piano out to a JC Penny, but I want the credit for learning it to!

Leave a Reply

