Am I boring you?

I know I’ve been posting a lot of stuff lately about feminism, sexuality and age (both young and old). I hope I’m not coming off as a one-note wonder, but since I’ve started writing a book with my co-author, Stacey M. Kananen, who was sexually assaulted between the ages of 4-22 by her own father, I’ve become increasingly aware of how much more common this is than we realize. It’s leading me down paths of discovery that I wish to share with those who might be inclined to do … something … I don’t know what can be done, but we can’t just sit back and ignore the continual over-sexualization of the female form, no matter what its age.

My philosophy of life leans toward the “New Thought” side of things, wherein we are responsible for our own creations, where karma isn’t a punishment but is instead cause and effect, and “soul contracts” are agreements we make with others to experience both the best and worst life has to offer. That said, I know that some people will respond with things like “It’s all an illusion, anyway,” as if that makes it okay to sit back and watch these things happen, and the law of attraction crowd might say that it does no good to focus on things that we don’t want to see continuing. But I prefer to live by Gandhi’s words, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”

One of the most valuable lessons I ever learned from Neale Donald Walsch was when he told me, “It’s not your job to save the world, just the ones God sends to you.” Well, “God” has sent me Stacey and her mission to bring awareness to child sexual abuse. So that’s what I’m doing.

Part of that awareness is shedding light on the fact that girls are treated as sexual beings from birth to death, in every culture, the world over. Many say that’s just the way it is, males are “visual beings” who can’t help themselves, and that I’m being an unrealistic and whiny baby by making a stink about it.

But here’s the deal. The stink is going to get stinkier, and I’m going to be talking about this more and more as time goes on and as this book gets off the ground. So if I’m boring you, just look the other way at these posts and watch for the funny and ironic ones. I’ll still be posting those, too, because life is still fun, but it’s also pretty scary and icky sometimes. I’m hoping to help throw a liferope to some who are stuck in the ick.

If you’re so inclined, why not send Stacey a friend request on Facebook and show your support? And if you’re not my Facebook friend, hit me up as well.

5 responses to “Am I boring you?

  1. More people should bore others in this way! I am with you on this topic, I will honor and love those who God has put in my life and be the change. There are two types of people in the world….those that say they do the work, and those who actually DO the work! Thanks be, I had the best dad in the world!

  2. “It’s just an illusion” can be an easy copout. We created this illusion for experience, and if I’m disgusted by something and I choose not to do anything about it, that’s totally on me. But if I say “I don’t have to because it’s all illusion” and pretend it doesn’t bother me, I’m lying to myself. That’s also on me, but it’s still a hypocritical copout… another illusion I can experience.

    I prefer the illusion of enjoying my life and respecting myself and my world. Things tend to go better for me when I do that. So, do I want the illusion of status quo or do I want the illusion of making my world better?

    Oh, and you have not bored me in aeons Lisa, if ever.

  3. Stacey M. Kananen

    I am grateful to have a co-author that has this passion as much as I do. I know that we are fighting an uphill battle, but everyone that ever had a passion started somewhere. May we have much support and blessings on our journey. And may we find the strength to continue until we make some sort of a difference in the way people look at women, children, and their abuse.

  4. We never know our true purpose in life, especially when we endure tragic circumstances in our life. But if we keep looking “UP”, we will find ourselves in a position of helping others survive that which we have managed to survive ourselves.

Leave a Reply

