The fading power of “beauty” ads

I’ll admit it, I spend more time than I really should yelling at the TV when I see an ad trying to sell me a product to help boost my low self-esteem (which was fine until the ad told me how much I suck). But last night, I am happy to report, I saw a foretelling of the end of that era.

You know the ads: you’re too fat, you’re too old, your hair isn’t shiny enough, your floors are grotesque, your clothes are “puh-leez!” Teeth whitening ads, where a glistening beauty believes that she can’t get married because her teeth aren’t white enough–even though they are beyond perfect as is–are the latest in a ridiculous series of this type.

Fortunately, I’m finally of an age where I know that it’s a “Buyers Beware” market  and that most TV is pure crap. I don’t watch it much anymore. However, impressionable young minds buy into the brainwashing that their natural state of being needs expensive sneakers to improve the condition of their asses.

I am happy to report that advertisers have officially run out of things to make us feel bad about. Witness the following commercial where they tell us that scratching your head will turn off a cute guy:

I dare say that the vast majority of men won’t even notice that you are scratching your head, unless the movement is making your boobs jiggle. And in that case, they wouldn’t want you buying a shampoo to solve that problem!

Yes, if that’s the best they can do, then I’d say they have run out of steam. Can I hear a “Hallelujah!”?

3 responses to “The fading power of “beauty” ads

  1. HALLELUJAH, sister!!!! 😀 RIGHT ON! I used to wonder why my grandmother would mute the commercials, and now that I’ve gotten older I completely understand – it wasn’t just because they were so loud!!!

  2. This is indicative of a trend I could like VERY much!

    But I’ve never understood Head and Shoulders doing “sexy” related ads. They’re the Listerene of shampoos.

  3. I beleive the commercial should have had the girl have an itchy coochy…..that way everyone wins…!! The girl could have seductivly relieved her “area” (by scratching with lots of sexy moans and groans, of course), which in turn would have made her date sexually aroused (the single most important thing to all humankind – duh, who doesn’t know that) and Head and Shoulders would gotten their promo…..maybe it’s just me, but I’m thinkin’…… “that “coulda” been a wrap”…..!!

Leave a Reply

