Look how high I am!

Sometimes I feel a little snarly toward people who post condescending “Isn’t life great when you’re me?” statuses on their Facebook profiles. I feel like Paula Poundstone talking about her cat  that climbs the curtains and pronounces, from the top, “Look how high I am!” and all Paula can do is sit there and resent the cat, “Yes, you’re very high.”  To these people I might add, “Quit showing off and show me how to get up there, too, or shut up.”


(fast forward to about 6:40 in the video for that specific bit)

I say that before I say this. Look how high I am!

I think I finally figured something out, something big! I’ve been practicing that metaphysical, law of attraction, new age mumbo jumbo for a very long, long time. I can totally relate to people who ask Abraham, at Esther Hicks’ seminars, “I’ve been doing the work. Where’s my stuff!?!” Lately, though, I’ve had a really nice, steady flow of feeling okay. Things are pretty good and getting better.

This comes after years of long stretches of down between the ups. The highs were really amazing, but the lows were so freakin’ low (no, I’m not bi-polar, I’m learning to fly). But recently I have been able to maintain a feeling of grooviness for a longer time. I’m gaining altitude and it feels NICE.

Then, out of the blue, yesterday, I crashed. Hard. I felt like I was hit in the face with a brick. After such a long time aloft, it felt awful. The contrast was so harsh that all I could do is shake my confused head and wonder, “wtF???” Suddenly, money was flying out the window for really stupid things, I felt like crap, and I was filled with rage.

Now, this morning, I feel amazing again. Just like that. Double WTF? So I thought about this.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been stewing over some imagery in my head, trying to put it into words, trying to grok. I’m still having a hard time verbalizing the essence of the image, so try to feel into what I’m saying here, because sometimes there are just no words to describe a vision. It’s an image of a lightswitch, of sorts, that we can flip to instantly turn on what Abraham calls “being in the vortex.” I’ve been feeling like this is an ability that I’m evolving into (and probably so are you) but I just couldn’t grasp how to flip that switch. I knew it was possible, but couldn’t reach it.

I think that yesterday’s crash and today’s miraculous rebound were the Universe’s demonstration to me of the stark, immediate contrast between here and there, and how it’s only a matter of stepping from one vibe into another just by remembering what it feels like to be here. That switched can be flipped by a memory of feeling awesome, and if it doesn’t work right away, just keep trying. Eventually the circuit will connect.

I’m interested in hearing your thoughts on this. Share it with your friends and ask them to add their two cents. Let’s figure this out together.

Here’s you a dog:

4 responses to “Look how high I am!

  1. I’ve recently been guided to step back out of any emotional pain and to observe it, to acknowledge it. This step alone has helped me maintain a forward momentum in my feelings. I am happier in my marriage, I have co-created a better home, I enjoy my job and my hobbies more than ever; so I am seeing a direct benefit from simply refusing to wallow in righteously indignant justification of pain.

    I’ve also been guided to choose that what someone thinks of me is not for me to bother with, and what they think of themselves is just none of my business, because they, like me, are divine. This one was sneaky because it is effectively the act of forgiveness.

    I think we are experiencing similar stuff here.

  2. Yep. What Curtis said (awesome, Curtis!). And what you’re evolving into is just what Cindy Teevens, of the Alchemy of Love and Joy has found and is teaching people. She uses a method of gentle confrontation and consultation like Byron Katie’s (only she’s a little nicer!) to show people that they can get out of a negative feeling by bringing forth the “remembering what it feels like to be there” no matter what the external circumstances are. It’s not about your story, it’s about how to feel joy right now. Pretty cool. And I do find in general that recovery from the down things is faster now than it used to be. Great article, Lisa!

  3. Another good one, Lisa! Here’s some synchronicity for you. Earlier today, I did a reading for a lady in FL. Her guide(s?) said to her through me,”Flip the switch! (I saw a wall lighswitch) You can do it!” I also mentioned not being afraid of the “switch.” (I have no idea why I put switch in quotes, either.)
    Lots of therapists use the technique of “think of something that makes you very happy.” Can you bring that feeling up again? etc. Maybe it has something to do with balance & moderation? I don’t know, because I’m not good at those two things, but occasionally I hit it and it feels good. I watched Melissa Harris-Perry this a.m. and the guests and she were talking about certain mental illnesses being re-evaluated by the DMS…is that the physician’s def.book of mental illnesses? Anyway, illnesses are defined by societies and people who are OUTSIDE the person with the symptoms. How about, one of the people offered, letting the patient define whether he/she is simply sick and tired of being sick and tired…like, of being poor, or abused, or life is TOO much. There are diseases and prescriptions for those things, instead of society DOING something about them. Oops, off track there for a moment. I think everyone is feeling a shift coming and it’s like running across an ice rink in sneakers!

  4. Good one, Lisa!  

    “Weeks passed, and the little Rabbit grew very old and shabby, but the Boy loved him just as much. He loved him so hard that he loved all his whiskers off, and the pink lining to his ears turned grey, and his brown spots faded. He even began to lose his shape, and he scarcely looked like a rabbit any more, except to the Boy. To him he was always beautiful, and that was all that the little Rabbit cared about. He didn’t mind how he looked to other people, because the nursery magic had made him Real, and when you are Real shabbiness doesn’t matter.” Margery Williams, The Velveteen Rabbit

           

Leave a Reply

