Looking for experts: walking shoes

I’ve only recently begun taking walking seriously as an exercise (I’ve lost 35 pounds! Yay, me!). That whole fitness wave, when it began years ago, went right over my head so I know less than nothing about how to buy good quality walking shoes. All I know is, they’re pretty doggone expensive, so I don’t have a lot of room to experiment.

Therefore, I’m asking the experts: you guys. If you have an opinion on the subject, let me know what you think:

  1. What is your favorite brand?
  2. What are the most important things to look for?
  3. How can I be sure they fit properly? (Just because they feel good in the store doesn’t mean they won’t start to hurt once I’m a mile from home already.)
  4. What do you think about gel insoles?

I’m going shopping at the end of November for a pair in the $100-ish range. My birthday is coming up, and that’s what I would like–a really good pair of quality walking shoes. I’m getting in tip-top shape for our 2014 trip to the UK, where we’ll be walking a lot, so this is important.

I would sure appreciate your feedback so my feet won’t be hurting when I’m blowing out the candles on my birthday cake!

9 responses to “Looking for experts: walking shoes

  1. asics asics asics. talk to the people at footlocker. they are suppose to know exactly what shoe to help you find. they are shoe scientists lol. not really but if you get the manager they can direct you. a year or so ago asics was the best. they are COMFY. then you can buy them at famous footwear. lots of times what’s advertised as walking/running shoe is really uncomfortable. so asics!! asics!! asics!!

  2. LOL! I knew that was you writing that, even before I saw how you signed it. My second born swears by Brooks.

  3. I love to walk in the autumn morning. I use a pedometer and try to get in at least 10,000 steps a day. Each 2,000-2,500 steps is about a mile. I love the exercise and I’ve lost almost 20 pounds. I got a great pair of insoles from Amazon called SmartSole Exercise Insoles that are really helping me with my walking. It has great arch support and a special gel in the heel that helps my legs from getting tired and sore at the end of the day. I put them in all my shoes.

    • Thanks! I bought some cheapo gel insoles that don’t seem to be doing anything, but sometimes you really do get what you pay for, right? I’m using a Fitbit to count my steps, and I shoot for the same range. Have you found http://walk.jog.fm/ yet for walking playlists? I LOVE IT!!!

  4. I got my last runners from Foot Locker. They are great at fitting. As I have the “Bonnici bunions”, they fitted me into boys Asics. They are wonderful. They also sold me some insoles. I wasn’t convinced about the insoles but figured for $40 I’d give them a go. When I saw my podiatrist a week later, he advised I remove the insoles and put the original ones back in (the ones that come with the shoe). His advise was that insoles that are not fitted properly can cause ankle, knee and hip problems down the track. My previous runners have always been Brooks trance. The Asics are cheaper and just as comfortable.
    Good luck

    • Well, hey Lou! Good to hear from you. I stopped in to Foot Locker this weekend to see about trying some shoes on, and all they had were Asics and Nikes, and a teenaged boy working the floor. I would have tried on the Asics, but all they had were neon colors. I asked, feeling like a dinosaur, “Don’t you have any white shoes?” He looked at me like I just asked why he had spaghetti in his ears. “No,” he said, “They stopped making white shoes a long time ago.” I felt very old.

      Thanks for your feedback. I never thought about trying on boys shoes. I’ll keep that in mind when it comes time to make a purchase.

  5. Hey Lisa,

    I just stumbled upon your blog. I have a site all about walking shoes and before you select a brand or model, you need to know what type of feet you have, especially your arch type. This will also tell you whether gel soles would be good for you or not. If you’re just going to be walking in them, my favorite brand is New Balance, although Asics and especially Brooks are great brands as well. It’s all a personal preference 🙂 The most important thing to look for is to make sure the shoe compliments your arch type, level of pronation, and foot width. You can do all of these tests at home as well so you can make sure you get a great fit when buying shoes online or in the store. After you know these things, you will be in a much better position to choose the perfect walking shoe.

  6. Pingback: Review: Skechers Memory Foam walking shoes | Here's you a blog ...

  7. I just found this site and I have a shoe site too with walking shoe reviews. I mostly wear New Balance, but I like the style of Asics. I agree with Reggie. Also, I suggest seeing a podiatrist about custom orthotics, as the storebought kind can harm you in some cases. I wrote an article about orthotics on my site, hope it’s OK to post the link: http://www.newshoereview.net/orthotics-what-and-when-do-you-need-them/

Leave a Reply

