World’s least effective sales pitch …

Vanilla Hazelnut Latte

(Photo credit: KelvinSnaps)

Just a quick rant today, to get this off my chest. I want ad agencies to know that this too-common sales pitch has the exact opposite of their desired effect: “For the cost of a latte a day, you can have (insert product name here) …”.

Here’s why that line actually turns me against buying the product.

  1. I don’t drink lattes.
  2. If I did, don’t try to guilt trip me into giving them up, as if they’re a luxury I can do without.
  3. Lattes are expensive! A latte a day adds up. Ipso facto, your product is expensive!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to make myself a cup of tea.

Here’s you a dog … in a cup.

Leave a Reply

