Let’s get ready to detox!

Last April, I did an elimination diet that really helped, and I’m about to do it again. I feel like I could use a reboot, and this is a healthy way to do it. Plus, it usually kick-starts any weight loss plateaus that one may be experiencing, and I could probably stand to lose a few more sticky pounds.

My journey from 215 to 150.

The photo in the blue tank top was taken before last year’s elimination diet.

For those who are unfamiliar, an elimination diet is where you remove all but the most basic foodstuffs from your diet for a couple weeks. Most of us have reactions or allergies to foods that we don’t even notice, so an elimination diet cuts your intake down to pure foods that very few people react to, like lean protein, rice and vegetables. After your body settles into a healthy hum, you begin to reintroduce foods and notice how your body reacts.

When I was writing Shape Shifting, I used Dr. Elson Haas’ book The False Fat Diet to do this and was very happy with the results. Last year, I used Dr. Mark Hyman’s book The UltraSimple Diet and was equally as happy. This year, I’m using the UltraSimple Diet again, mostly because the book is handy, not because it’s better than Dr. Haas’ book.

On my radio show, fellow Shape Shifters Anne, Emma and Phoenix and I have all agreed to do something like this together, so we’re going to be buddy-systeming it. This week we’ll be talking about the beginning of this process, so if this is something you’re interested in, be sure to listen in Wednesday, January 22, at 12 noon EST!

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/shapeshifting/2014/01/22/shape-shifting-lets-get-ready-to-detox

Leave a Reply

