Kindle fans: “Be Careful What You Witch For!” is back!

be careful front cover I recently wrote a blog about one on my books being pirated for use as a torrent. My issue wasn’t that my work was being stolen, it was that I had taken that book off the market because I was rewriting it. Well, I’ve republished it. It’s available again (both in paperback and ebook), because I’ve changed my mind.

Fans of Lola and Twink will be happy to know that I’m moving forward with the sequel, and writing it in the third person, with a planned publication date of Halloween, October 31, 2014. That’s five years to the day since the first book in the series–hopefully Book 3 won’t take that long to get out there (life got a little nuts between then and now).

Book 1–as is–will be the only one written in Lola’s voice. It was Lola Garnett’s diary, written while trying to figure out, with the help of a pissed off faery sidekick, how she woke up with powerful psychic abilities and how to use them to stop the crazy bitch across the street from destroying her life.

In the sequel, which is written in the third person, Lola has become more comfortable with her abilities and life has settled into a modicum of normalcy again. She starts taking classes at the local New Age book shops and learns to journey “across the veil” into the other realms.

Hijinks, of course, ensue when she becomes entangled with an extremely attractive mystery man, on the other side, and Twink, who is finally allowed to come home after paying her penance by helping Lola, can’t seem to find her way there. Lola is once again challenged to solve life’s puzzles and challenges, while working with powers she doesn’t understand. (More details to come.)

If you haven’t yet read Be Careful What You Witch For!, it’s only $2.99 at the Kindle Store. If you’re already a fan, you might want to subscribe to my blog so you’ll receive updates and notifications about Book 2.

See ya then!

 


BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WITCH FOR!
twinklowres Meet Lola Garnett, a bored housewife, mom and office drone who develops strange psychic abilities overnight with no instruction manual, and Twink, the reluctant, sarcastic fairy assigned to assist and educate her. In this first book in the series, middle-aged Lola Garnett has resigned herself to an unsatisfying life of servitude as a wife, mother and office drone. The American dream she’s living feels more like a coma, and she secretly longs for a more meaningful life. In a perfect demonstration of “be careful what you wish for” she gets her wish when she wakes up from a nap one day with extrasensory abilities and powers. What she doesn’t Lola Garnettknow is that her condition is the result of a botched spell coming from across the street, where her wanna-be-witch neighbor, Melinda Underwood, is foolishly playing with powers she doesn’t understand. Lola’s untrained intuition tells her that Melinda intends to use her equal, yet opposite, powers for evil against innocent people. With the help of a tiny, sarcastic, ethereal sidekick, Lola overcomes her helpless resignation to overthrow Melinda’s evil plot and in the meantime, finds her own self worth.

REVIEWS:

5.0 out of 5 stars
What a fun book! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and found that I did not want to put it down. I loved the charactors and the story in general. Many times throughout the book I felt like I could be Lola! I will be anxious to see the next book in the series! Thanks for such an enjoyable read. I passed it on to a friend who is another ‘aspiring witch’! 🙂

5.0 out of 5 stars
Lisa Bonnice is a master at creating interesting, quirky characters. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish and could not put it down. I found it to be witty, amusing, intelligent, and edgy. I especially loved it because unlike many books that deal with metaphysical subjects, it has a sense of playful irreverence. The protaganist is a “mainstream” person who is a complete novice when it comes to psychic phenomenon, which makes the story refreshing,fun, and lighthearted. I can’t wait until the next book in the series is completed. I’ll be the first in line to buy it.

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book was both fun and thought-provoking….a page-turner that leaves you wanting more (and looking forward to the next installment!) It works on many levels, first as the story of Lola, an ordinary woman who is coming to grips with her own strengths and weaknesses, beliefs and self-doubts, while coping with the day-to-day issues of marriage, family and work. It is also a unique fantasy/fable that takes you along on a journey with Lola as she learns to cope, with the help of her own higher self and her reluctant fairy side-kick, Tink, with her burgeoning new paranormal gifts and the unexpected, confusing, and often hilarious side-effects that they have on her life.

5.0 out of 5 stars

I love this book. Lisa Bonnice has managed to address the fears of anyone who is exploring their own abilities for the first time and give us the ability to laugh at ourselves and then step back and look a little deeper into our own souls. Written with humor and depth. This is a must read for anyone who is looking for that great “bathtub book” or a good reason to curl up with a warm blanket and a hot cup of coffee. You will find yourself laughing not only at Lola but also at yourself as Lola bumbles through as many of us really have done in exploring our own paths. While the book has some moments of comedic genuis but when you finish the book and find yourself missing the characters, you will also find that there were some wonderful life lessons along the way.

 5.0 out of 5 stars
Love It!
This is one of those stories that entertains while making you step back and think. Lola is every woman who has ever found herself in a place of not knowing who she is or why she is here.Lola’s journey into self discovery and spirituality, left me with the desire to really step back and take a look at myself while being excited to find out what they next part of the journey will be.The story is told with both humor, compassion and wisdom.I certainly hope there will be more adventures with Lola and Twink.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s