My experience with Chakradance

My friend Emma Porter is a Chakradance™ facilitator. For a long while I’ve wanted to participate in one of her workshops, and was finally able to this morning. I’m happy to report that it’s just as wonderful as she promised, and more.

Click this image for a great article on the chakra system.

Click here to learn about the chakra system.

“What is Chakradance?” you ask. Good question. I didn’t know either. I knew what chakras are, I knew what dancing is, but I couldn’t imagine how one would combine them. Here’s a description from the Chakradance website:

In a darkened room, lit only by candle-light, we move to music created to resonate with the vibrations of each of our 7 major chakras.  We dance with our eyes mainly closed, and our attention turned inwards, for unlike most other dance practices, Chakradance is about making a connection with our inner world – the world of our imagination, feelings, intuition and senses.

dancingbabyAt first, I felt a little weird. I’m open to new experiences, but I’m slightly uncomfortable dancing in front of other people. As my friend Leanne said,  “I don’t want to be the ‘old lady’ on the dance floor.” I know exactly what she means. Neither of us are going to be out there twerking any time soon.

But this isn’t dancing, per se. It’s a moving meditation. In fact, you don’t even have to dance (you can if you want to, but you don’t have to). You can sit or even lie down, which is good because I am currently dealing with an ankle injury that made it hard for me to meditate2this2stand for very long. So I sat down halfway through and “chair danced”, and the experience was just as deep.

I attended the “7 Keys to Freedom” workshop, which includes nine songs: seven designed to resonate with each individual chakra, and two more as intro and outro music. For each song, Emma gives specific guided instructions, which I found to be extremely powerful and easy to follow.

A couple of people in the workshop with me described it, afterwards, as taking a journey into themselves. Emma said that she’s heard that before. I can see why. It really is like entering an altered state and taking a trip into your inner being. I don’t know how else to describe it. You’d have to be there.

I’ve listened to all sorts of recorded chakra-balancing and guided meditations over the years, but there is something very different about this. I was truly surprised by how effective the experience was.

The best part was Emma, herself. She gets so much joy out of facilitating these workshops that she makes you feel welcome, comfortable and ready to participate. If you’re in the Phoenix, AZ area, and want to give it a try, check out Emma’s website for her schedule of events. And if you’re not, or would like to just try it at home, you can purchase DVDs and CDs at their site. Save 10% with discount code: EMMA

chakradance

One response to “My experience with Chakradance

  1. This blog-post, and the interview Emma posted on her wall have me convinced. As a Chakra Reader, I am excited to try a session with her! Hope we can time one all together!

Leave a Reply

