Cleanse-prep: Procrastination City!

I don’t want to do this cleanse. It’s so much easier to keep eating like I have been, and not have to shop for all of the special ingredients, and spend all that money, and eat separate meals–not to mention the actual preparation and consumption of said “meals”, which are all going to be green or liquid and not even close to chocolate-flavored.


That said, here’s my first Journal entry (see this blog for an explanation of the format):

Triumphs: I made my shopping list for five days of the “morning cocktail”. I’m going to buy organic whenever possible.

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Lemons and/or limes, for juicing, enough for 1/3 cup per day
  • Fresh garlic, 15-25 cloves
  • Fresh ginger, 2.5″
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Oranges for juicing, enough for 2 cups per day

This is a Triumph because I’ve been putting this off for long enough, and I’ve finally stopped procrastinating.

Makeovers: That Triumph counts as a Makeover, too, because it’s something that I’ve done to feel better about myself. Aside from that, I finally colored my hair this morning, and got some stretching exercises in. It felt good, but crunchy, to move a little.

Challenges: This could get expensive. I have to buy a lot of specialty foods, on top of my regular grocery shopping, since I’m the only one in my house to be doing the cleanse. Money is a little tight, so this is going cleanse pullquoteto take some fancy footwork.

Intentions: I intend that I actually look at the Sprouts ad when it comes in the mail this week (I usually just throw it away with the mountain of other ads it comes buried in), and shop their sales. They usually have really good produce prices. Between them, Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, I should be able to pull this off. Then, I intend that I shop for everything I need later this week.

Current Conditions: Feeling a little better, now that I’ve done this much. Well begun is halfway done, right?

Daily Thanksgiving: I’m thankful that my doctor was able to see that I needed her to push me into this. I probably wouldn’t have done it on my own–at least, not until after the holidays, and I probably would be several pounds heavier by then. I’m grateful that I finally live near the kinds of stores I need to pull this off (for many, many years I did not).

Wanna join me? I’ll be responding to your comments here and on my facebook page.


Lisa Bonnice is the author of five books, including Shape Shifting–reclaiming YOUR perfect body (with a foreword by Neale Donald Walsch).

Leave a Reply

