Post-Cleanse Day Two: Journal entry

IMG_20141123_111130680~2 Well, I’ve certainly learned something! Remember the five pounds I lost? Remember the burger and ale I had last night for dinner because I didn’t plan ahead for post-cleanse-friendly foods? I gained two pounds back!

Let me start off by saying, again, that this cleanse wasn’t about losing weight. It was about getting healthier. I want to make it clear that I don’t obsess about my weight. I’m perfectly content to be a size 10 or 12.

Next, let me point out the obvious: two pounds gained overnight is obviously not fat. What I ate last night somehow caused my body to retain water, or something a little stickier than that. I’m not sure exactly. I just know that this is an interesting lesson.

So …


Triumphs: I went back to a healthier way of eating today. And, even with last night’s hiccup, I still feel really good. I had a lot more energy today than I’ve had in months. I was able to help someone move, and didn’t get tired or dizzy from the exertion. And, my anxiety levels are back down.

Makeovers: I meditated this morning and watched the sun rise. I brought some healthy snacks, including carrots and hummus, to eat while we worked today, and then ate well the rest of the day.

cleanse pullquoteChallenges:  I didn’t have time to do any grocery shopping today, and I have to work tomorrow, so the challenge to eat nourishing, healthy meals continues. Part of the problem is that I’m not sure what to eat. I certainly don’t want to go back to my old habits, but being on the go like this makes it hard to eat healthy, filling meals, without spending a fortune.

Intentions: I intend that I surf the Detoxinista site for some ideas before I go to bed tonight.

Current Conditions: Jazzed, yet cautious.

Daily Thanksgiving: I’m thankful for improved health. I’m also thankful that my challenges are first world problems. I did the cleanse because I was having health issues from not taking care of myself. So I’m not whining about having too many food choices when there are people who are literally starving. I’m deeply thankful that I have food choices to make. I’m grateful that I’m learning more, every day, about how to fuel my body in a way that makes it run like a well-oiled machine.


Lisa Bonnice is the author of five books, including Shape Shifting–reclaiming YOUR perfect body (with a foreword by Neale Donald Walsch).

Leave a Reply

