Meet your spirit guides and angels …

angelI took a class on spirit guides and angels recently at Vision Quest bookstore, in Phoenix, taught by one of their in-house psychics, Sonya Lee. I’ve been into metaphysics and psychic/intuitive arts my whole life, but I’ve never been able to connect with my own guides or angels. So I thought I’d check out this class.


When asked to introduce ourselves, I told the class that I have no problem believing that spirit guides or angels exist. But for some reason, aloneI find it hard to believe that I have them or that, if I do, I can connect with them. This is, no doubt, why I have a hard time connecting–I know that. Even so, I feel very alone.

But what to do about it?

Sonya, a friendly, down-to-earth instructor, was able to help me with that. After explaining the various kinds of angels and guides, she led the class through a meditation to meet one of our own guides. I had an interesting Sonyaexperience with the meditation, but what really helped me was to just watch Sonya as she connected with her own guides.

I noticed that, from time to time, she’d stop talking and laugh as her own guides would say something funny–which she would then share with us. I recognized what she was doing. I, too, have similar experiences. A voice, not my own (and not the mental illness type of disembodied voice), will answer a question that I’m stewing on or chime in with a punchline or two.

For me, it usually happens in the shower. I get my best ideas in the shower. I’ll be thinking about something when BLAMMO … an idea pops into my head and floods me so quickly that I pray that I’ll remember it Ang-angels-8307005-480-460all until I can rinse off and get to a pen and paper.

I’ve noticed that I can access this voice when I’m in a certain frame of mind–relaxed, curious, and relatively Zen. I can’t hear my own guidance if I’m tense, angry or impatient. And this is exactly what Sonya suggested in her class. It was a wonderful validation that I was already doing what I was trying to learn to do.

Regarding her psychic abilities, I had a reading with Sonya, too, and she was right on the money. She nailed several issues and offered excellent advice, which is working beautifully. She is available at Vision Quest in person at 3114 East Indian School Road, in Phoenix, or via phone at 480-949-1888.


Lisa Bonnice is the author of five books, including Shape Shifting–reclaiming YOUR perfect body (with a foreword by Neale Donald Walsch) and the comedy novel, Be Careful What You Witch For!

6 responses to “Meet your spirit guides and angels …

  1. That is so interesting. I too get a lot of ideas in the shower or when I am running. After my ordeal whitewater rafting this summer I have felt like I am out of touch with spirit. When I truly think that spirit was truly with me during that time. Hmmmmm, any thoughts? Love reading your perspectives.

  2. I go in and out of touch. Sometimes I’m so tuned in that I feel like I’m walking on water (and I don’t mean whitewater!) and other times I’m so disconnected that I wonder if I was hallucinating when I was tuned in. Most times, I’m in between.

  3. Pingback: Magical candles that WORK! | Here's you a blog ...

  4. Pingback: Mediumship: Connecting to our loved ones on the other side | Here's you a blog ...

  5. Pingback: Who knew your astrological “North Node” was so important? | Here's you a blog ...

  6. I believe I have met my spirit guide or guides and also my guardian angel…I just had to remember a feeling and i do remember it was a beautiful moment…..i actually saw my angel i was at a time i was at my worst. I saw a orb of light hovering above me and suddenly i felt at peace at like all my fears were gone…then not long ago i met my spirit guide and my heart almost exploded with joy. I was really that powerful. i cried for 3 hours but is was a wonderful expirence…I wanted to tell everone what i had witnessed and didnt care if they thought i was crazy or not…i did not even know thats what it was because i had no knowledge of this kinda stuff….it was mark who made me think about my feelings and how important they were to me! i dont think he knows how much of a differnce he has made in just the couple times we have chatted!!! in one day.

Leave a Reply

