Who knew your astrological “North Node” was so important?

OLDMAP1


I attended a class recently on Mediumship, at Vision Quest Bookstore in Phoenix, and the instructor mentioned, in passing, that one’s “North Node” is one of the most important aspects of one’s astrological chart. Once mind blownI got home, I looked it up and proceeded to get my mind blown.

I’m not going to explain what a node is–here is a link to a Google search. There are a zillion blogs and books out there that have that covered, so why reinvent the wheel? In a nutshell, the South Node is about your karma from other lifetimes, and the North Node is what you’re here to learn this time around.

First, click here to find out where your North Node is. Then, find your matching link on the right side of that same page. If you don’t have access to your chart to see which house your North Node is in, you can go to http://www.astro.com to create one.

chartI’ve learned that, with my North Node in Virgo and South Node automatically in Pisces–because Pisces is diametrically opposed to Virgo–I’ve spent numerous lifetimes perfecting my psychic abilities. It explains why I am so empathic and keenly interested in the topic of metaphysics.

It also explains why it’s so hard for me to be interested in the physical world (I’d much rather be meditating, or reading, or living in my head). My challenge, this lifetime, is to leave my psychic studies behind, and get out there and be physical.

But

My North Node is also in the 12th House, which is ruled by Pisces. This flip-flops all of that information, so everything I just said is wrong. With homerthis placement, I’m supposed to stop living so much in the material world and concentrate on my spiritual connection with my Source.

My knowledge of astrology is greater than average, but I’m not an expert. Therefore, I have to guess. And I’m guessing that this means I’m supposed to find the middle path and ride a sort of infinity/mobius loop. It would appear that this is the lifetime where I’m supposed to perfect walking with one foot in each world.infinity_sign_by_kikoisawesome-d5uaj7x

I asked Sonya Lee, one of the psychics at Vision Quest what she thought, and she agreed. She also told me about an excellent book by Jan Spiller, called Astrology for the Soul. If you’re at all interested in learning more about your nodal placement, start by doing a Google search and read as much as you can find. After that, read Jan’s book. Then, put the top of your head back on. It will have been blown off.

***

FOLLOW UP: I asked my friend Marguerite Manning, Llewellyn’s best-selling author of SIGN LANGUAGE: Decoding Your Contract with the Universe and COSMIC KARMA: Decoding Your Contract with the Universe for her two cents on the subject, and here is what she said:

“Happy 2015 my dear Soul Sister Lisa! I’d be happy to chime in with my “karmic” perspective on the nodes because while they are often overlooked they are very important karmic markers in your birth chart. For me, as a karmic astrologer, they are nothing less than spiritual “directional signals to the soul”. The south node indicating where you’ve spent most of your time in the past (and now MUST move on to bigger and better things if your’e going to evolve) and the north node being THOSE very “bigger and better things”. Things that are NOT in our comfort zone necessarily because they are our “new path” to success and we all know real success requires us to move out of our comfort zone (aka the south node). Now the nice thing about the north node is that it is showing each of us the areas of life (by sign and house) where we can experience real growth (or what we call on this planet: real success).”

Your north being in Virgo shows you have a past for “physical healing” and the practical repair of policies, procedures and yes, people, but now it must be used to “emotionally heal” … the “real victims” of the world. NOT the relatives, friends or associates that make you “feel guilty or too prosperous” in this life. The people you don’t know who really need you to use your practical skills in a more empathic, psychic and spiritual way. (I always see this placement as a physical healer who must now show others that healing the mind and spirit is the complete path to healing.

Thanks, Marguerite!


Lisa Bonnice is the author of five books, including Shape Shifting–reclaiming YOUR perfect body (with a foreword by Neale Donald Walsch) and the comedy novel, Be Careful What You Witch For!

Lisa will be teaching a class at Vision Quest on January 11, 2014 on “Make New Year’s Resolutions work for you, with Shape Shifting“.

3 responses to “Who knew your astrological “North Node” was so important?

  1. EXCELLENT post! I too am no expert at astrology however, I do have some knowledge about it. My north node is in the 12th house in Capricorn. The interesting thing about my 12th house is that saturn is ALSO there. So, it’s been a real challenge diving into the 12th house direction in my life. I went to college and did all the expected, mundane things. Everyday my spirit urges me to submit myself to spirit and get lost in the 12th house but my practical cap-virgo-esque nature wants to be concerned with daily functions “how am I going to do this…I can’t focus on spirituality how am I going to support myself etc.”

    It is certainly a task! Thanks for your share 🙂

  2. I am also Virgo North Node in the 12th house. Pisces is my sun sign and my south node sign. My chart has lots of these oppositions, but the North Node in Virgo in the 12th house requires my most subtle understanding. Thanks for writing about it! And, I love Spiller’s book.

  3. I’ve been soul searching the past few months. My North node is also Virgo in 12th house. Virgo is also my AC. 2016 its back in transit as we speak, so I believe it’s my karmic time from what I’m gathering. I started looking into astrology more, and taught myself some things. However I’m still somewhat lost.
    I’m very grateful that I found this, it gives me some insight. Thank you very much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

